top of page
Kōrero Class 2 (6 weeks)
Kōrero Class 2 (6 weeks)

Fri, Jan 12

|

Zoom

Kōrero Class 2 (6 weeks)

Join Kaiako Amelia for our Kōrero Class 2!

Registration is closed
See other events

Time & Location

Jan 12, 2024, 4:00 PM PST – Feb 16, 2024, 6:00 PM PST

Zoom

About the class

Would you like to improve your ability to have a basic conversation in te reo Māori?

Do you lack confidence to speak Māori in social situations?

Do you know how to read and write in te reo but struggle with speaking aloud?

Then this course is for you! ​Our Kōrero Class 2 is focused on creating confident te reo Māori speakers. It is recommended for anyone who has a strong knowledge of te reo Māori foundations and would like to improve on their current level of kōrero ā-waha (speaking out loud) and whakawhiti kōrero (conversing) in te reo.

N.B Our January Kōrero Class is the continuation of our Nov/Dec 2023 Kōrero Class however, taking the first class is not a prerequiste for this course.

This course includes: ​

- 6 te reo Māori lessons taught via Zoom. Each class is 2 hours in duration

- 6 Zoom recordings

- 6 detailed lesson plans delivered via email before each lesson

- 100% oral homework assignments each week

- Weekly kōrero groups for practicing speaking in te reo

- Unlimited email support throughout the duration of your course

- On-going support through the Learn Māori Abroad Facebook Group.

Start Date: Friday January 12th, 2024 (USA) | Saturday January 13th, 2024 (NZ/AU)

Class Dates: (US/NZ)

Lesson 1: January 12th/13th

Lesson 2: January 19th/20th

Lesson 3: January 26nd/27th

Lesson 4: February 2nd/3rd

Lesson 5: February 9th/10th

Lesson 6: February 16th/17th

Time Zones:

Los Angeles/Vancouver: Fridays @ 4pm - 6:00pm

New York/Toronto: Fridays @ 7pm - 9:00pm

Auckland: Saturdays @ 1pm - 3:00pm

Melbourne/Sydney: Saturdays @ 11am - 1:00pm

Brisbane: Saturdays @ 10am - 12pm

Perth: Saturdays @ 8am - 10:00am

If you need another time zone let us know!

Investment: $259.40 USD

About the Teacher:

Amelia Butler (Learn Māori Abroad Founder & Kaiako/Teacher) is of Ngātiwai, Ngāti Awa and Ngāpuhi descent. She attended Kōhanga Reo (Māori language preschool) at a young age and grew up in Auckland. Amelia studied Māori by correspondence at secondary school and led her school’s kapa haka group. She went on to major in Māori language, culture and performance in her Bachelor of Arts degree and Māori Land Law in her Bachelor of law degree at the University of Auckland. Amelia moved to America in 2009 and is currently based in Memphis, TN. She has shared Māori language & culture with various groups and organization in the USA including UCLA, University of Hawaii, Pacific Island Ethnic Arts Museum, Warner Bros Studios, Sony, Bullet Proof Coffee, Kiwis in LA, Tourism NZ, Penguin Random House, Atlas Obscura and Intel.

For more info email us at info@learnmaoriabroad.com. Ngā mihi!

Tickets

  • General Admission

    $259.40

Total

$0.00

Share this event

bottom of page