top of page
Poi Workshop
Poi Workshop

Sat, Sep 07

|

Zoom

Poi Workshop

Join Devon to learn how to 'swing' a poi!

Time & Location

Sep 07, 2024, 4:00 PM – 5:30 PM PDT

Zoom

About the class

The poi or ‘poi ball’ (as it is called in America) is essentially a ‘ball’ with a woven string attached to it. Poi is part of Māori cultural dance and is also the name of the particular type or style of dance. Traditionally used by warriors for weapons training, the poi created suppleness, co-ordination and strength in the hands and wrists of the trainee. Nowadays, short and long poi are used by Māori Kapa haka and Polynesians groups in their performances.

This beginner’s workshop is for students of all skill levels with no experience required. The class will focus on the development of basic Poi skills using both single short and double short poi. By the end of the session, students will be able to individually perform basic poi movements and will have learned a group routine. Come experience the joy of movement and power of poi with the Learn Māori Abroad whānau!

DATE: Saturday, August 10th, 2024 (US) | Sunday, August 11th, 2024 (NZ/AU)

TIME ZONES:

Los Angeles - Saturday Aug 10th @ 4pm - 5:30pm

New York - Saturday Aug 10th @ 7pm - 8:30pm

Auckland - Sunday Aug 11th @ 11am - 12:30pm

Melbourne/Sydney/Brisbane - Sunday Aug 11th @ 9am - 10:30am

Perth - Sunday Aug 11th @ 7am - 8:30am

Investment: $33.85 USD

BYOP - Bring your own poi! 2 short poi are needed to participate in this workshop.

N.B The class will be recorded and sent out to everyone who is registered.

About your Kaiako (teacher):

Devon Hori Harvey comes from Māori (Ngāti Kahungunu and Ngāpuhi) and European heritage. Being raised in America, haka was a way for him to stay connected with his Māori roots. From attending kapa haka with his family as a young boy he has continued to develop a deep love for Māori dance and sharing his culture with others. He has previously directed the Māori sections for different University Polynesian and multicultural performances. He, along with his wife Selesitila (Ngāti Porou), established a Polynesian dancing group at Ohio State University to share the aroha (love) of Aotearoa (New Zealand) and Polynesia with University students and community members. Devon is currently training to become an Ophthalmologist and upon completion of training hopes to return to his roots in Aotearoa to support Māori and Kiwi health.

For more info email us at info@learnmaoriabroad.com. Ngā mihi!

Tickets

  • General Admission (USD)

    $33.85

Total

$0.00

Share this event

bottom of page