top of page
Te Reo Māori Beginners Course (8 weeks)
Te Reo Māori Beginners Course (8 weeks)

Fri, Feb 16

|

Zoom

Te Reo Māori Beginners Course (8 weeks)

Join Kaiako Alex to learn te reo Māori!

Registration is closed
See other events

Time & Location

Feb 16, 2024, 4:00 PM – 5:30 PM PST

Zoom

About the class

Kia ora koutou katoa!

Join us for 8 weeks to learn te reo Māori on Zoom with Kaiako (teacher) Alex.

The Learn Māori Abroad Beginners course includes:

- 8 Te Reo Māori lessons (1.5 hours in duration) taught via Zoom

- Weekly class notes, homework assignments & resources to support your in-class learning

- Weekly kupu hou (new words) list to increase your te reo Māori vocabulary

- An accountability & practice group with learners in your time zone

- A recommended resources list

- Unlimited email support throughout the duration of your course

- Lifetime access to all class materials and Zoom recordings

- On-going support through the Learn Māori Abroad Community Chat Group on Facebook

- A community of te reo Māori learners living abroad

START DATE: Friday January 12th, 2024 (USA) | Saturday January 13th, 2024 (NZ/AU)

CLASS DATES: (US/NZ)

Lesson 1: January 12th/13th

Lesson 2: January 19th/20th

Lesson 3: January 26nd/27th

Lesson 4: February 2nd/3rd

Lesson 5: February 9th/10th

Lesson 6: February 16th/17th

Lesson 7: February 23rd/24th

Lesson 8: March 1st/2nd

TIME ZONES:

Los Angeles/Vancouver: Fridays @ 4pm - 5:30pm

New York/Toronto: Fridays @ 7pm -8:30pm

Auckland: Saturdays @ 11am - 12:30pm

Melbourne/Sydney/Brisbane: Saturdays @ 9am - 10:30am

Perth: Saturdays @ 7am - 8:30am

If you need another time zone let us know!

Investment: $259.40 USD

About the Teacher:

Alexander Sarsfield was born and lives on Ngunnawal and Ngambri Country (Canberra, Australia). Connecting with Te Ao Māori and Te Reo Māori as an adult, Alex first joined Learning Māori Abroad as a student for Amelia's Intermediate class in 2021. Alex is passionate about sharing his knowledge of Te Ao Māori, supporting others who have grown up out of Aotearoa with their own haerenga (journey).

Alex holds Bachelor’s degrees in psychology and visual art. His research work in psychology focuses on the ways Indigenous peoples' find belonging in urban environments. In his art practice, Alex works primarily with uku (clay) and harakeke (flax). The past year, he has facilitated one-on-one workshops to teach others the practice of raranga (traditional Māori weaving).

For more info email us at info@learnmaoriabroad.com. Ngā mihi!

Tickets

  • General Admission

    $259.40
    Sale ended

Total

$0.00

Share this event

bottom of page