top of page
Te Reo Māori Beginners Course (8 weeks)
Te Reo Māori Beginners Course (8 weeks)

Sat, Mar 02

|

Zoom

Te Reo Māori Beginners Course (8 weeks)

An introduction to te reo Māori with Kaiako Austin!

Time & Location

Mar 02, 2024, 10:00 AM GMT – Apr 20, 2024, 12:30 PM GMT+1

Zoom

About the class

Kia ora koutou katoa!

Join us for 8 weeks to learn te reo Māori on Zoom with Kaiako (teacher) Austin.

The Learn Māori Abroad Beginners course includes:

- 8 Te Reo Māori lessons (1.5 hours in duration) taught via Zoom

- Recording of each class

- Weekly class notes, homework assignments & resources to support your in-class learning

- Weekly kupu hou (new words) list to increase your te reo Māori vocabulary

- An accountability & practice group with learners in your time zone

- A recommended resources list

- Unlimited email support throughout the duration of your course

- Lifetime access to all class materials and Zoom recordings

- On-going support through the Learn Māori Abroad Community Chat Group on Facebook

- A community of te reo Māori learners living abroad

START DATE: Saturday, March 2nd, 2024 (UK/NZ)

CLASS DATES: 

Lesson 1: March 2nd

Lesson 2: March 9th

Lesson 3: March 16th

Lesson 4:  March 23rd

Lesson 5: March 30th

Lesson 6: April 6th

Lesson 7: April 13th

Lesson 8: April 20th

TIME ZONES:

London: Saturdays @ 10am - 11:30am

Berlin:  Saturdays @11am - 12:30pm

Dubai: Saturdays @ 2pm - 3:30pm

Perth: Saturdays @ 6pm - 7:30pm

Brisbane: Saturdays @ 8pm - 9:30pm

Sydney/Melbourne: Saturdays @ 9pm - 10:30pm

Auckland: Saturdays @ 11pm - 12:30am

If you need another time zone let us know!

Investment: $259.40 USD

About the Teacher:

Austin Haynes was born in Aotearoa New Zealand, growing up between Ōtākou (Otago) and Wurundjeri Country in Australia. He is Pākehā (New Zealander of European descent) and his ancestors came to Aotearoa from the 1850s onwards from Scotland (MacLabhrainn and Hay Clans), Ireland, and Austria. Austin began his reo journey with Learn Māori Abroad in 2020. He was initially inspired by several of his ancestors who had immersed themselves in te reo Māori and te ao Māori. Austin quickly fell in love with te reo and is passionate about sharing what he has learned with others on their own haerenga (journeys).

Austin is also an opera singer and now lives in Rānana (London). He is currently studying for a Masters degree in Literature, for which he is researching the history of te reo Māori translations of English language literature from Shakespeare to folksongs. Austin is a poet and writes in both English and te reo Māori. He hopes one day to be able to write poetry in Scottish Gaelic, the indigenous language of many of his ancestors, and to help create a world where te reo Māori and other indigenous languages are spoken, written and celebrated everywhere!

For more info email us at info@learnmaoriabroad.com. Ngā mihi!

Tickets

  • General Admission

    $259.40

Total

$0.00

Share this event

bottom of page