top of page
Te Reo Māori Beginners Course (8 weeks)
Te Reo Māori Beginners Course (8 weeks)

Sat, Jun 08

|

Zoom

Te Reo Māori Beginners Course (8 weeks)

An introduction to te reo Māori with Kaiako Hayley!

Time & Location

Jun 08, 2024, 4:00 PM PDT – Jul 27, 2024, 5:30 PM PDT

Zoom

About the class

Kia ora koutou katoa!

Join us for 8 weeks to learn te reo Māori on Zoom with Kaiako (teacher) Hayley.

The Learn Māori Abroad Beginners course includes:

- 8 Te Reo Māori lessons (1.5 hours in duration) taught via Zoom

- Recording of each class

- Weekly class notes, homework assignments & resources to support your in-class learning

- Weekly kupu hou (new words) list to increase your te reo Māori vocabulary

- An accountability & practice group with learners in your time zone

- A recommended resources list

- Unlimited email support throughout the duration of your course

- Lifetime access to all class materials and Zoom recordings

- On-going support through the Learn Māori Abroad Community Chat Group on Facebook

- A community of te reo Māori learners living abroad

START DATE: Saturday June 8th, 2024 (USA) | Sunday June 9th, 2024 (NZ/AU)

CLASS DATES: (US/NZ)

Lesson 1: June 8th/9th

Lesson 2: June 15th/16th

Lesson 3: June 22nd/23rh

Lesson 4: June 29th/30th

Lesson 5: July 6th/10th

Lesson 6: July 13th/14th

Lesson 7: July 20th/21st

Lesson 8: July 27th/28th

TIME ZONES:

Los Angeles/Vancouver: Saturdays @ 4pm - 5:30pm

New York/Toronto: Saturdays @ 7pm -8:30pm

Auckland: Sundays @ 11am - 12:30pm

Melbourne/Brisbane/Sydney: Sundays @ 9am - 10:30pm

Perth: Saturdays @ 7am - 8:30am

If you need another time zone let us know!

Investment: $259.40 USD

About the Teacher:

Hayley Marama Cavino, PhD is of Māori (Ngāti Whitikaupeka, Ngāti Pūkenga) and

Pākehā (English, Irish, Scottish, Jewish) descent. She holds a PhD from Syracuse University

(New York) where she wrote a doctoral thesis on raupatu (confiscations) and intergenerational trauma in

Tauranga Moana, primarily as told through the life stories of three generations of her tūpuna

wāhine. Previously she worked for more than a decade as an applied researcher. Most

recently she has taught in the Faculty of Māori and Indigenous Studies at the University of

Waikato in Aotearoa (New Zealand) and previously at Syracuse University, Ithaca College, and Colgate University in New York. 

Hayley was prohibited from learning te reo Māori in high school and subsequently began learning as an adult while living in the United States. She completed a Beginners Te Reo Māori program through Te Wānanga o Raukawa, and Beginners, Advanced Beginners and 1:1 te reo classes through Learn Māori Abroad. In 2023 Hayley was a student at Te Whare Wānanga o Waikato ki Tauranga where she completed five months of the total immersion te reo Māori Te Tohu Paetahi program. Hayley is particularly interested in supporting adult learners, learners living away from home, and those who might have experienced trauma or whakamā (shame) related to speaking te reo. 

Hayley currently lives in Tauranga Moana in Aotearoa (New Zealand) where she is writing a non-fiction book based on her doctoral research and furthering her reo studies in Learn Māori Abroad's Intermediate level course.

"Kaua e whakamā! Kōrero mai i te reo Māori!" 

"Don't be shy! Speak in te reo Māori!" - Dr Hayley 

For more info email us at info@learnmaoriabroad.com. Ngā mihi!

Tickets

  • General Admission (USD)

    $259.40

Total

$0.00

Share this event

bottom of page